The Macallan Select Oak

Recently, a friend’s travels took her through Chicago. Being in good terms with me and appreciating my thirst for good whisky, she retrieved a bottle that is exclusively sold at duty free shops. I decided to open this bottle today, though I’ve had it for a while.

The Macallan Select Oak is part of their range geared specifically for travelers. It is only available at American, European, and some Asian airport duty free shops. This whisky is aged in mostly first fill sherry oak casks, but American oak used for producing bourbon is also used.

This 40% abv whisky is golden, with thick legs that also happen to run rather quickly.

On the nose, it’s orange, spice and cinnamon. There’s some apple, pie crust, and hints of pear.

On the palate, remarkably smooth. Cinnamon and sugar are omnipresent but joined periodically by oak, very light hints of smoke, apples, pears, and green grape. The flavour profile makes for an easy drinking whisky that could appeal to a broad range of people, from beginners of whisky appreciation to seasoned pros.

The finish is not short, but I wouldn’t call it very long either. It’s satisfying, with the cinnamon and spice continuing its hold on the senses. It ends sweetly and lingers on the sides of the tongue for some time.

Overall, a fine daily dram and better than your average whisky. It’s lack of complexity precludes me from calling it an excellent whisky, but it is perfect for a warm summer’s day or casual drinking after a pleasant dinner with friends. In other words, a versatile whisky. Well worth picking up on your travels and an interesting find for those looking for something easy to drink under many circumstances, I guarantee this will be a bottle you will be sad to see reach its bottom.

Cheers!

5 comments on “The Macallan Select Oak

  1. Eric says:

    I tried the 1824 Whiskey Maker’s Edition once or twice last year. It too had a cinnamon spice as well and was a fine drink. I wouldn’t turn a glass away but I am so impressed by the 17 & 18 yr fine oaks, that’s its hard to go back. I suppose my diet is full of spice already…
    Thank you for your notes, as I might try this one on a warm summer day as you suggested. I have a bottle of 17yr Glengoyne which, although more on the amber side, seems to go nicely for the winter holidays.

  2. […] Overall, I’ll give the Macallan 12 the slight edge overall.  It is more complex overall and an interesting experience, but I like the sweetness of the Select Oak quite a bit.  Depending on my mood, my overall rating could change, but on this cold November evening I prefer to the Macallan 12′s smokey, oak filled tasting experience.  The Select Oak is harder to find of course since its distribution is limited, but I strongly recommend purchasing both.  The Macallan 12 should be purchased in New Hampshire if you happen to be going through as it is easily less than half the price than in Quebec and Ontario.  For my full review of the Macallan 12, click here and you can find my review of the Macallan Select Oak by clicking here. […]

Leave a Reply

